Designers, make it work

Yesterday night, I saw Tim Gunn speak at Jesse Hall. Sometimes losing track, he told stories of his experience as an educator, the fashion industry, and some troubles with people from Vogue.

One of his stories really resonated with me. The important part is the way he ended it: “When you’re presented with an opportunity – and on one hand it shakes you up and on the other it gives you anxiety and fear – that’s a good thing. Take that chance.”

I’m not going to give a spiel about how journalism is my destiny and this quote emphasizes that – I’m more trying to say that journalism terrifies me. Yes, there are aspects that I really enjoy, but I’m hoping it’ll feel more like a good thing in the future. I am taking a chance on a major I never thought I would study, so I think that in itself is a large chance (and an accomplishment). Reporting is only a small aspect of my studies before I really start to study design, so I hope I get over the fears that come with being a journalist and tap into more of my potential.

Before I become a designer, I just gotta make it work.

Leave a comment