A few tips

At the end of the semester, ReedKath asked the fall reporters to reflect on their time spent reporting and to write about what they wish they would have known going into it. I have a unique opportunity to have a sort of do-over with reporting, and there are a few things that I’ve picked up along the way.

Here are a few tips I recommend for reporters:

Put your all into it. Reporting is only a minor, yet important, step in my journey to becoming a designer. However, reporting is an incredible, undoubtedly hard experience and can be rewarding if you put what you have into it. I have heard many powerful examples of how reporting has changed the world. It’s likely that I won’t change the world, but reporting can make a difference even in a localized setting. For the short time you are in reporting, try your best and wonderful things can happen.

ASK. If something is confusing, ask. Clarifying is so simple and so important. Accuracy is essential in journalism.

Don’t let your fears overwhelm you. Many times before, I was so afraid of making mistakes that it would stop me completely in my tracks. “Make a glorious mess,” as Liz would say.

Don’t ask a question you can find the answer to on Google. Self-explanatory. Try Googling the answer first, then ask an editor or friend if you need help. Related: SEARCH THE CLIPS BEFORE PITCHING A STORY IDEA.

Always have a pen and paper ready. Whether I am meeting with an editor or out-and-about, I always have writing materials. As a former Wall Street reporter and J1100 instructor, Alecia Swasy, once said, always have a ‘clicky pen’ and paper with you. FYI, the ink of most clicky pens doesn’t run when paper is soaked, which has been accidentally and purposely tested by me. It should honestly go without saying, but it is simple, great advice I have always followed (Miss you Swasy).

Be persistent. Of course it’s important to ALWAYS be respectful, courteous, and professional, but calling your source again, leaving a message (exception: Christian Basi), or sending another email won’t hurt. Many times, I have called a source, and, if there was no answer, I would try another phone number or email soon after. I’m not talking about rudely and repeatedly contacting your source so you can make deadline. I’m saying that persistence sorts out the newbie journalists from the more experienced journalists. Don’t be afraid to dance on the line between passive and pesky. Go ahead and be pressing in every aspect.

Good journalism takes time. Everything about the reporting process is tedious, but it is crucial to excellent journalism. Situations and the immediacy to publish vary, but taking the time to get the facts right and to include necessary information for an accurate story are non-negotiable. Without credibility, we have nothing (Think, Report. Think, Write.).

Have fun. Nine times out of ten, the interview, event, or phone call is not nearly as bad as your anxieties. Every story I published in the fall had some sort of dread attached to the process. Backtracking a little, throw your fears out the window and enjoy yourself.  It is a wonderful opportunity to work as a professional journalist while in college, and it will be an unforgettable experience.

Hopefully, this will help out someone. More blogging later!

In other news: I produced a weather story today. Check it out!

An important edit: Don’t compare yourself to other reporters.

Leave a comment